France 2009

A little bit of everything

Provence 28 August - 07 September 2009
Coat of arms of the region Provence Alpes Cote d'Azur



Flag of France My first holiday in France lead me into the Provence, located in its south east corner. While the destination was selected rather randomly the region played out its cards well and ravished me completely. My image of France has changed ever since.

Although it was a little bit too late in the year to see the famous lavender fields blossoming, the region has much more to offer. It simply has everything that makes a good holiday: grandiose nature, good food, culture from all epochs, sea and sun - just perfect.
Map of France with the region Provonce, Alpes, Cote d'Azur indicated in Red


Aix-en-Provonce - Mazarin-Quarter
First stop of the journey the the busy and noble Aix-en-Provence. The Mazarin quarter which was founded in the 17th century is dominated by bourgeois city villas and shows the typical colouring and architectural elements that can be found all over the Provonce. We also meet the famous Mistral wind, a chilly wind blowing down the Rhône valley that is also responsible for a perfectly blue sky.
 

Verdon Gorge
The canyon the small river Verdon has dug into the rock over millions of years is a natural wonder. Calling it the "Grand Canyon of Europe" may be a bit exaggerated but does not lack justification. With a length of 21 km and being up to 700 m deep the Verdon Gorge is at least one of the largest of its kind in Europe. The street is winding in countless curves alongside the abyss. At the end of the canyon the Verdon flows into the artificial lake of Sainte-Croix-du-Verdon. The mouth is a highly popular destination and swimming area.
Cassis
Only once when ordering a Café Crème I received the warm milk separately how it is supposed to be in good places. That was enough of a reason to take a picture of it. Elsewhere you will just get a the Café Crème with a dash of milk already inside the coffee while the size of the dash depends heavily on the mood of the waiter.
Cassis
French laissez-faire? No longer the way it used to be. Like this example in Cassis prohibition signs are by far not seldom despite the fact that the French people like making funs of us Germans and our many rules. Apart from the all over smoking prohibitions also in the child friendly country of France you will find signs prohibiting playing and noise making in a remarkable number. However, while the signs in Germany are desperately seeking for attention with their prominent placing, the French manage it to place them more discretely and then to ignore them with even greater nonchalance.
Fontvieille - Roman aqueduct
The Provonce is full of remnants from the time of the Romans. This includes the famous theaters of Orange and Arles, the well - received Antiques in Glanum, the amazing Pond du Gard, or just a less important aqueduct near Fontvieille, which was used to transport the water for the operation of a mill.
Les Beaux-de-Provence
Once the counts of Les Baux ruled over large parts of Provence. Meanwhile, only ruins remain of the castle Les is Beaux-en-Provence. However, the magnificent view across the country has remained. The village on the slope was re-prepared, but is firmly in the hands of tourists. Still worth seeing. However, one should be good to walk to climb the castle.
Fontvieille - Mas de l'Ange
As is known from the television news, France is still a country of farmers, even if sometimes they have the tendency to dump their products in front of some parliaments instead of selling them. The French farmers have long re-discovered for themselves the benefits of direct sales via the farm shop and hence at every corner one can buy wine, fruits or olive products like at the farm Mas d l'Ange. Besides oil and the famous tapenades this farms house wive is particularly proud of the unique olive jam.
Camargue
White horses, black bulls and pink flamingos - that colorful the wildlife in the Camargue is. Bulls and horses, however, are hardly found in the wild any longer. Also the flamingos on this picture felt more home in a Bird Park. Although this is nothing like the huge flocks of flamingos found in Africa it remains an impressive and unexpected experience to see them in European regions.
Avignon
The massive fortress-like palace the Popes in Avignon build for themselves is much too large to be confined on a single photo. And then, of course, there's the remains of Avignon's famous bridge. While singing its tune over and over again one easily forgets how big the construction, with its length of about 900 m, was for the Middle Ages.
Rousillon
The small village of Rousillon located on a hill top is glooming in all shades of ocher that one could possibly think of. In the nearby ocher quarries one experiences an explosion of colour. Absolutely worth seeing. It even distracts you from the marvellous view.
More pictures can be found in my Facebook photo album.
facebook logo




You are here:
ak-extra / travel / france 2009
left elementguestbookelementsend e-mailelementsitemapelementhomeright element




© 1999 - 2009 by Aléxandros Kiriazis
This page is part of a frameset. If you can't see it click here for the homepage.

Frankreich 2009

Von Allem etwas

Provence 28 August - 07 September 2009
Wappen der Region Provence Alpes Cote d'Azur



Fahne von Frankreich Mein erster Urlaub in Frankreich führt mich in die Provence. Das eher zufällig gewählte Ziel hat seine Reize jedoch gut ausgespielt, mich begeistert und meinen Blick auf Frankreich verändert.

Auch wenn es zu spät im Jahr war für die berühmten blühenden Lavendelfelder, konnte die Region restlos begeistern. Es ist alles da für den perfekten Urlaub: grandiose Natur, gutes Essen, Kultur aus allen Jahrhunderten, Meer und Sonne - Perfekt.

Karte von Frankreich.  Die Region Provonce-Alpes-Cote d'Azur ist rot eingezeichnet.


Aix-en-Provonce - Mazarin-Viertel
Die erste Station der Reise ist das quirlige und noble Aix-en-Provence. Das im 17. Jahrhundert gegründete Marazin-Viertel ist geprägt von Stadtvillen und zeigt bereits die typischen Farben und Architekturelemente, welche in der Provonce immer wieder anzutreffen sind. Bekanntschaft machen wir dann auch gleich mit dem Mistral, dem kalten Wind der durch das Rhône-Tal fegt, aber immerhin für tollen blauen Himmel sorgt.
 

Verdon Schlucht
Die Schlucht, die der kleine Fluss Verdon in Jahrmillionen in den Fels gegraben hat, ist ein Naturschauspiel. Die Bezeichnung "Grand Canyon Europas" ist vielleicht ein wenig übertrieben, aber nicht ganz unbegründet. Mit 21 km Länge und bis zu 700 m Tiefe ist die Verdon Schlucht immerhin eine der größten Europas. Kurvenreich schängelt sich die Straße am Abgrund entlang. Am Ende der Schlucht fließt der Verdon in den Stausee Saint Croix. Die Mündung ist beliebtes Ausflugsziel und Strandbad.
Cassis
Nur ein einziges Mal habe ich bei der Bestellung eines Café Crème die Milch tatsächlich separat erhalten, wie es sich in guten Häusern eigentlich gehört. Grund genug das Ganze auf einem Bild festzuhalten. Ansonsten gibt es den Café Crème mit je nach Laune der Kellner variierenden Mengen an Milch direkt in der Tasse.
Cassis
Französisches laissez-faire? Das war vielleicht einmal. Wie hier in Cassis sind Verbotsschilder in Frankreich keineswegs eine Seltenheit, obwohl sich die Franzosen gerne über unsere ach so vielen Regeln gerne lusitg machen. Neben den allgegenwärtigen Rauchverboten gibt es auch im kinderfreundlichen Frankreich die Schilder mit der Aufschrift "Spielen und Lärmen verboten" in bemerkenswerter Anzahl. Doch während die Schilder in Deutschland mit aller Kraft um Aufmerksamkeit heischen, schafft es der Franzose sie doch etwas dezenter zu plazieren und dann umso eleganter zu ignorieren.
Fontvieille - Römisches Aquädukt
Die Provonce ist voller Überreste aus der Zeit der Römer. Dazu gehören die berühmten Theater von Orange und Arles, die gut erhaltenen Antiques in Glanum, der grandiose Pond du Gard oder eben ein weniger bedeutendes Aquädukt in der Nähe von Fontvieille, welches Wasser für den Betrieb einer Mühle transportierte.
Les Beaux-de-Provence
Einst herrschten die Grafen von Les Baux über weite Teile der Provence. Inzwischen ist die Burganlage Les Beaux-de-Provence nur noch eine Ruine, der grandiose Blick über das Land ist jedoch geblieben. Das Dorf am Berghang wurde zwar wieder hergerichtet, ist aber fest in der Hand der Touristen. Trotzdem sehenswert. Man sollte allerdings gut zu Fuß sein, um die Burg zu erklimmen.
Fontvieille - Mas de l'Ange
Wie aus den Fernsehnachrichten bekannt ist Frankreich auch heute noch ein Land mit bedeutender Landwirtschaft. Längst haben die französichen Bauern den Direktvertrieb via Hofladen wieder für sich entdeckt und es gibt allenorts Wein, Obst oder eben Olivenprodukte wie auf der Mas d l'Ange. Neben Öl und Tapenaden ist man hier auch besonders stolz auf die Olivenkonfitüre.
Camargue
Weiße Pferde, schwarze Stiere und rosa Flamingos - so bunt ist die Tierwelt in der Camargue. Stiere und Pferde gibt es in freier Wildbahn jedoch praktisch nicht mehr und auch die Flamingos hier auf dem Bild fühlen sich in einem Vogelpark heimischer. Auch wenn das nicht die riesigen Flamingo-Herden Afrikas sind, bleibt es doch eindrucksvoll und unerwartet.
Avignon
Der gewaltige burgartige Palast, den sich die Päpste in Avignon errichten liesen ist viel zu groß, um auf ein einzelnes Foto gebannt zu werden. Ansonsten gibt es natürlich noch die Überreste der berühmten Brücke bei der man vor lauter Besingen vergisst, wie groß das Bauwerk mit einer Länge von gut 900 m für das Mittelalter war.
Rousillon
In allen Nuancen von Ocker leuchted der kleine Ort Rousillon. In den nahe gelegenen Steinbrüchen erlebt man eine Explosion von Farben. Absolut sehenswert. Da übersieht man glatt die fantastische Aussicht.
Mehr Bilder gibt es in meinem Facebook-Fotoalbum.
facebook logo




Sie sind hier:
ak-extra / reise / frankreich 2009
linkes elementgästebuchelemente-mail sendenelementsitemapelementhomerechtes element




© 1999 - 2009 by Aléxandros Kiriazis
Falls Sie links keine Navigationsleiste sehen, klicken Sie bitte hier, um zur Startseite zu gelangen.